What separated you from the bucket bobs when you first began?

Hello,

Newbie here. Getting things geared up to take a run at this thing. As everyone here is well aware, starting a business requires you to differentiate yourself in some way. And honestly, from reading everyone’s discussions here, a lot of that seems to be just showing up and not making a fool of yourself. But with such a low barrier to entry, and barely more than that to at least give the appearance of professionalism, what do you think separated you in the beginning? Anyone can get some black polos embroidered with a logo and website creation services are cheap and extraordinarily easy these days.

Love to hear your thoughts! Thanks!

1 Like

Hey Nathan,

Here are a few things I’ve done in my business.

1. Professional and high quality business cards. Consider using a raised font on these to make it pop.
  2. Having insurance. This has helped me get several residential jobs which are now reoccurring clients.
  3. Comprehensive estimate sheets. I’ll try to find the template that @Garry posted awhile ago. It helps when people can see everything you do.
  4. Documented follow up process. I call my customers to remind them of the appointment and call after to make sure they are happy with the results.
  5. Screen printed polo shirts. This was expensive, but showing up with a professional shirt is huge.
  6. Take credit cards. I use square and this method is about 50% of how people pay.

Bonus: consider hand written thank you notes after each job. People love this.

4 Likes