Window Scratches and Squeegee Care

Hello All,

I am a newbie window cleaner who has done just a few storefronts. I am looking on some insight on proper squeegee care to make sure that i avoid scratches on the windows.

I am using an unger ninja and have just purchased a wagtail. For the unger i purchased new rubbers (Black Diamond). How often do i need to switch out the rubbers? Im not doing very many jobs at the moment so should i switch it out on a “x” amount of job basis?

Are there any Do’s or Donts regarding squeegee care that i need to know to ensure i dont scratch any windows…Its honestly my biggest fear at the current moment is scratching the windows.

Appreciate any feedback. I am actively trying to read through posts here to soak up all the knowledge but figured i would make a new thread to get some new input. Thanks!

If you drop your squeegee in the dirt, rinse off the dirt before putting it on the window.

If you hear screeching then your channel is upside down.

Change your rubber when you need it.

Don’t go psycho with a razor until you learn about fabrication debris.

1 Like

Yeah I’m also pretty new. Also my biggest fear when starting out was scratches. I haven’t actually done any work anywhere besides my own home. I have sort of gotten over this fear from just doing my own windows. As I was practicing my technique doing the same windows over and over again I slowly gained confidence. I’m not so worried about scratching the windows anymore. My recommendation would be to keep practicing and soon you’ll realize you don’t need to worry about it much anymore. Just keep an eye out for tinted glass and whatnot.

Also if you have a feeling for some reason that you will scratch the glass, just do a small corner of the window to make sure it doesn’t scratch. Better go scratch a little piece instead of the whole thing

Oh storefronts are usually scratched to crap so don’t worry about it.

3 Likes