Won’t believe we didn’t scratch her window

We have been accused of scratching two windows in a condo. We have cleaned this person’s condo 3 times and never used a scraper. We’ve only used our microfibre scrubber, white pad, and squeegee. We knew the window was scratched but it was so obvious we thought the owner knew so we never said anything (our only real mistake). It was first job of the day, clean water, tools and towels. Homeowner claimed she’d never seen the scratches before. (the low sun shines right in that window this time of year). We reasoned with her that we didn’t use any methods that scratched it, that no other windows are scratched, and we never once used a scraper. I can with a clear conscience say it wasn’t us. I have 20 years experience with all kinds of windows. This is my first situation like this. I get why she accuses us, even telling the truth it sounds like we’re lying.

My question is, do you have suggestions on dealing with someone who is unreasonable and just doesn’t believe you?

1 Like

This has never happened to me but I would try to assure her that we’re on her side… I go over there to inspect and would tell her I don’t know how that happened since these are the only tools you used (show her) and ask her to try them out on her window.

When she realizes she can’t scratch it with your tools I would recommend to her services she can employ to remove that scratch (they have special tools to polish the scratch out) and inform her that likely the scratch was already there since builders use low grade glass.

When all else fails…Id send her my insurance guy to inspect and tell her himself that this wasn’t caused by us.

5 Likes

Point out all shit wrong with their glass/house, preferably before you tough it.
-I take the approach of “Im sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but unfortunately, I have to point THIS out, before I work on this window…”

5 Likes