Work truck when starting fresh

Hello! My name is Kevin and I am just starting out this year (well mostly going all in next year)
and right now i have a 2008 chevy 1500 work truck, but its got a decent bit of rust and no way of holding extension ladders without buying a $2k topper with a ladder rack. (i live in an apartment so i need a truck topper for securing my tools in the bed of the truck… ANYWAYS… do you think that i can start out with just this truck doing only storefronts? Or am i better off selling it and investing in a ford transit or something to have an official work vehicle?

I dont really like the idea of pulling up in a rusted vehicle as a luxury service company…

Keep the shitty truck and invest in marketing

Do something about the rust lol, glue it, tape it, idk

4 Likes

Keep the truck. If you’re only doing storefronts you probably don’t need a topper with a ladder rack so you can save a little there. Also you can get used toppers for far less than 2k.

2 Likes

i mentioned storefronts if i just keep the truck. just to get started. my goal is to be a mostly residential company

I’d go with the small transit for storefronts. You can keep all tools in there without worrying about theft. Its going to be better on gas cruising from stop to stop. Its a rolling billboard.

If it’s just a work vehicle and you’ve got another vehicle for personal use, work van is the way to go

1 Like

I’d go ahead astart right off with residential if that’s the goal. If you need to lock everything up and can afford a van, do it. Buying a topper with a ladder rack is a lot cheaper though. And if the truck really looks like a total rust bucket it may not be ideal in residential. It’s amazing how many different types of vehicles people have stated out with.

1 Like