Working as a Subcontractor (Newbie); Storytime: How Did You Get Started?

Hi guys :exclamation:

I’m brand new to the industry and would like to work only as a subcontractor. I was introduced to the profitableness of the field recently, and thought it would be great to supplement my part-time work (hopefully eventually starting a business within a few years). Subcontractors also seem more appealing to company owners and it seems to be a simpler process.

I know as a subcontractor, I’m expected to have my own equipment and be knowledgeable :elephant: . I have some experience on the ground. But I was hoping you might be generous enough to help with your years of experience. I will continue to read the forums, so far I saw that a subcontractor could make 60/40 or 50/50, but would that be only if it was a 2 person crew? Can someone describe how this works with a full crew? Like examples of what that would yield :heavy_dollar_sign:.

I’m going to watch the recommended YouTube channels :tv: but would you guys mind sharing how you entered the business and got the training you needed?

I am also seeking to know where I can get supplies at wholesale prices.

Feel free to introduce yourself :name_badge: All advice is welcome & appreciated (and if you happen to have contacts in SoCal, that’s a major plus!).

Thanks! :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum

WCR has a store right here to buy your gear!

https://shopwindowcleaningresource.com/

This is where I like to shop! :wink:

3 Likes

As part of a crew, providing your own equipment and insurance, you would likely have to negotiate for a flat daily rate or commission based pay system. How much you can get depends on too many factors to estimate for you. But if you’ve gone through the trouble of setting yourself up to subcontract legally, it’s not such a reach just to get your own jobs and keep ALL the money (minus taxes, of course).

3 Likes

I think you are misunderstanding what it means to be a sub-contractor.
Example: