Any opinions on proper quality level?

I am still a newbie. On my own jobs, I have been going to the highest quality level possible. Razor every square inch, maybe wet wool, maybe barkeeper’s friend. Clean the frames, sills, sashes and tracks as clean as they can possibly be.

However, I’m re-thinking this. It seems like doing it this way triples (at least) the time required to do the work, versus a simple mop-squeegee-next! approach.

The reason I’m wondering is this. I did some work with a guy who has a zillion laudatory reviews on Yelp. Yet his work is slap-dash. Zero track cleaning, very little razor, ignores paint, sap, hard water, etc.

Now I’m thinking his approach may be right. WC is so expensive, and a lot of homeowners just need the dirt washed off the glass. They don’t expect someone to do window surgery. It’s too expensive, and it takes too much time. They just need the dirt off, and they want the window cleaner in and out fast.

Any comment?

My Opinion
Do it right the first time, people notice, you will earn a lifetime client.
Next time around do a basic clean, it will save you time but will look just as good as the first time, and customer will continue to be happy.

3 Likes

Do what you think is right. When you first start off it’s really easy to get so detail focused that you’re making minimum wage per job which is not a good way to keep your business afloat.

However, in my experience, people just want clean windows 90% of the time. Wiping the outside of the frames maybe / maybe not. Detailing tracks maybe / maybe not. Always wipe the inside sills because you don’t want to leave a mess.

Razor? Absolutely not unless it’s a ccu with waiver in place and the understanding that it’s 3x-5x normal price. Ditto steel wool. Ditto hardwater removal.

Instead of completely being slash and dash, offer “upgrades.”

For example:

To clean the windows inside and out will be $200.

• Includes wiping the sills and removing cobwebs from around windows and doors.