Here’s one...who gave up a white collar job to clean windows? It takes humility

Some proud folks won’t clean windows as they get embarassed when people ask what they do for a living. That’s a good thing. If more people were humble there would be too much competition!

1 Like

“He who humbles himself will be exalted”

1 Like

Yeah, my customers are usually surprised that I designed high speed networking products, asics, wrote software and firmware, can debug their favorite CMS, etc.

“So how did you get into window cleaning?”

Someone offered to pay me. Can you believe it?

But talking physics with a customer while cleaning a window is as good as it gets. Met a really eccentric old physicist who had been a member of IEEE for like 50 years and it was one of the funnest cleans I had done. Dude was crizzazy and I couldn’t remember what a modified bessel function looked like for the life of me.

10 Likes

I was a truss designer for floors and roofs. we were the guys who told the architects and engineers they were wrong.

we had to look at every aspect of a building and design floors and roofs to work.

was offered to go back too design bjt happily declined

7 Likes

I was a teacher for fifteen years and was a Linux system admin for several years. I keep some light residual work, but other than that am glad to be free from that area. Designed a few iot devices a couple of years ago.

8 Likes

There’s another thread on here on this topic. I was amazed at some of the jobs people had before they found this. Great topic.

5 Likes

I was a restaurant manager with 3 locations under my purview. I think restaurant work is technically classified as “pink collar” work, but I had an office so…

9 Likes